Frequently Asked Questions
1) Can I carry in my car without a license and if so why do I need one?
Yes, House Bill 1815 as passed by the 80th Legislature allows for the carry of a concealed handgun on your premises or premises under your control (a vehicle and/or an RV included). There are several benefits to having a Texas Concealed Handgun License: You can legally carry a loaded, concealed handgun on your person and in other states which honor a Texas LTC. You no longer have to undergo an F.B.I. background check to purchase a firearm. You have the legal ability to defend yourself and other innocent people from the violent acts of criminals.
2) Do I need to take a class for a LTC renewal?
No, you can go to the DPS webpage https://www.txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl and complete the application. Your driver's license photo will be used and a renewal class is no longer required.
3) What kind of gun can I carry when I get my handgun license?
Texas now allows you to qualify with and carry EITHER a revolver or semiautomatic with no special designation for semiauto anymore. The State requires only that the gun be legally-obtained, Further, there is no caliber restriction on what you choose to carry.
4) Will I need a gun before I begin my training class?
If you own a handgun at this time, It is always best to qualify with the weapon you will carry, HOWEVER, we have semi automatic pistols available for rent. The fee is $35.00 and includes 50 rounds of ammunition.
5) Is my gun now registered with the State?
NO! Obtaining a LTC is not a registration of your firearm(s). The state does not require any report of what handgun you use or own, only whether you qualified with a semiautomatic or non-semiautomatic. You WILL NOT be asked to provide ANY information or your guns.
6) I have heard that I will have to take a special class to get a license. Is this true?
Yes. You must take a 4 1/2 - 6 hour class taught by a DPS-certified instructor. The notification form (LTC-100) you receive from the instructor must be sent to the DPS with your other application materials as listed on the bar coded printout receipt from the online application.
7) How long does it take to get my concealed weapons license?
Upon completion of the training course and application packet, the state has 60 days from the time it receives your completed materials to issue your license. 45 days are allowed for a renewal. *** This generally NOT the case and is normally within 15 days from the date DPS receives your packet from you.
8) Do I have to have my packet from the state before I take the concealed carry permit course?
No. You do not have to have your packet to take the course, however it is helpful to go on-line, prepay (via credit card) and receive your package in the mail directly from the state.
9) How long do I have to renew my concealed weapons permit if it is already expired?
You have one year after expiration of a Texas Concealed Handgun License to renew it. You may not carry once your license has expired, even if you've submitted the online application and are waiting for your new license to arrive. If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must start over as a new original-license applicant.
10) Will a license from my home state be recognized under the reciprocal license provision?
Upon recommendation of the attorney general, the governor will issue a proclamation or sign a reciprocity agreement recognizing a concealed handgun license in another state and our license in that state. You must abide by the applicable laws of the given state. An updated list of states with reciprocity can found here
PRINTABLE WALLET CUT OUT:https://www.usconcealedcarry.com/cnprint111101011101011111000101111000101111010111111100111.php
11) If I was convicted of DWI two years ago, can I still get a concealed handgun license?
No. DWI is at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or B misdemeanor or disorderly conduct. This includes cases that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication.
12) If I was arrested for a crime but the charges were dismissed, will my application be rejected?
No. Dismissals will not be grounds for denial, as long as you were not placed on probation or deferred adjudication prior to the dismissal.
13) Where can I not take my handgun?
Handguns and other weapons cannot be carried at schools or on school buses, at polling places, in courts and court offices, at racetracks (where there is Para mutual betting), at secured airport areas or within 1,000 feet of the premises of an execution on the day of execution. The law also specifically prohibits handguns from businesses where alcohol is sold if more than half (51 percent) of their income is achieved from the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption, and from locations where high school, college, or professional sporting events are taking place. You may not carry handguns in hospitals or nursing homes, amusement parks, places of worship or at government meetings if signs are posted prohibiting them. Businesses also may post signs prohibiting handguns on their premises based on criminal trespass laws.
14) Where can I obtain LTC documents and Finger prints / locations (FAST Service)Follow this link. It is extremely quick and much easier than trying to do it all yourselves.
Sec. 411.205. REQUIREMENT TO DISPLAY LICENSE.
If a license holder is carrying a handgun on or about the license holder's person when a magistrate or a peace officer demands that the license holder display identification, the license holder shall display both the license holder's driver's license or identification certificate issued by the department and the license holder's handgun license.
(CLASS C Misdemeanor)
Sec. 411.206. SEIZURE OF HANDGUN AND LICENSE.
(a) If a peace officer arrests and takes into custody a license holder who is carrying a handgun under the authority of this subchapter, the officer shall seize the license holder's handgun and license as evidence.
Texas / US Law Shield Platinum Plus Sign up
Linked information on TABS
A Funny Poke at our Nations HERO's